Are oats gluten-free?
Oats are a very controversial subject in the celiac community. In fact, it wasn't until recently that gastroenterologists approved oats for those on a gluten free diet! As a celiac, you must stick to gluten-free oats. Oats are very easily contaminated during the growing and manufacturing process, leading to an unhealthy PPM (parts per million) level of gluten in conventional oats.